$1.51 today, one article, 5 views/44 sec ave. reading time

Why so much, what am I missing?

Janice Tovey
2 min readJan 7, 2022

--

A german shephred looking confused.
Photo by Dex Ezekiel on Unsplash

Since I joined Medium, my morning rituals are pretty consistent.

Feed the dog, walk the dog, instant coffee, turn on laptop and wait to check my Medium account. I hope I am not alone in this. I admit, has become a bit of an obsession.

First I look at followers, then comments, then stats, and then earnings. . It excites me more than I think it should. Because, at this moment, they are just that, pennies. But, I am fairly new and I am happy.

This morning I woke to a surprise. What! I had earned $1.51 from one article. An article that had only 5 views with an average of a 44 second reading time. It must be an mistake. Should I alert the authorities?

And it is ironic. It is ironic because the article I wrote focused on writing quantity over quality. I believe my writing needs improvement so this had become my strategy for now. Write as much as I can and hope for the best. And THIS was the article that attracted the most money?

--

--

Janice Tovey

My passion is writing. I also love reading, teaching, animals, nature, music, and humor. I am curious about everything and enjoy writing about all things.