Addiction, Distraction, Obsession.

Janice Tovey
4 min readDec 18, 2021

But I like it!

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I have always been keenly aware that I had many interests. My focus can fluctuate monthly. OK, I will be honest, weekly. No, daily, hourly, OK OK by the minute!

But, I thought that was just kind of normal for a creative, easily bored, and rather high strung person. I come from a long lineage of Geminis, I am an Empath, and just generally curious about many things…..all at the same time.

It just so happens I was casually flipping through a magazine and an article popped out:

5 SIGNS THAT YOU MAY HAVE AN ADDICTIVE PERSONALITY

What?

Why was my whole body tingling?

I felt a little woozy!

I wanted to skip to the article about Gourmet Grilled Cheese or 35 Kitchen Time Savers, but I pressed on.

Don’t get me wrong, I know what an additive personality is, but me, I don’t think so!

There was a wee survey at the end, and I started, with an air of nonchalant robustness, ticking boxes!

Extremely passionate about many things. Tick

Develops obsessions or fixations easily. Tick

--

--

Janice Tovey

My passion is writing. I also love reading, teaching, animals, nature, music, and humor. I am curious about everything and enjoy writing about all things.