4 Reasons To Not Write On Another Platform

A valid yet unpopular opinion I would guess.

Janice Tovey
3 min readJan 19, 2022

--

Photo by Patrick Tomasso on Unsplash

I have to be completely honest with you, I signed up on another writing platform.

I have read about all of the benefits to diversifying, mainly exposure and cash, and I took the plunge.

I signed up with Simily.

Don’t get me wrong. Simily is a welcoming sight with many attractive features. I was drawn to the profile page. It was fun to set up and looks great.

Registering was super easy. Email, username, profile page, banking if you so choose, and away you go. You can write for free or join with 3 different monthly packages.

Medium writers can import stories easily. Then you start to gain followers, views, comments, connections and eventually there is a pot of money to be divided for paying members. This is based on views.

Simily is in the infancy stage. Some believe it is a really good time to get in on this start-up writing platform. The number of current writers is under 5,000.

So what is my problem? Why am I saying that it might not be a good idea to write on another platform?

Here Are My 4 Reasons Not To Write On Another Platform:

--

--

Janice Tovey

My passion is writing. I also love reading, teaching, animals, nature, music, and humor. I am curious about everything and enjoy writing about all things.