5 Of The Rarest Ever Barn Finds

Automotive treasures lurking in abandoned barns

Janice Tovey
3 min readFeb 6, 2022

--

Abandoned barn grey and snow covered with an old pick-up truck buried in snow.
Photo by Janice Tovey

I drove by an abandoned barn today and it got me thinking. What could possibly be inside. I took this picture. I did a little research. I discovered some interesting facts about a connection between exotic cars and abandoned barns.

People park their classic and exotic cars in barns. Then they forget about these precious vehicles.

How could someone park an exotic car in an old barn and not remember? Apparently it happens a lot of the time. We repeatedly hear about exotic vehicles being discovered decades after they were parked.

Most exotic/classic car enthusiasts treat their cars like gold. In temperature controlled facilities with regular maintenance.

But not everyone. Some individuals totally forget about these cars. They leave them to rot in abandoned buildings and barns for years and even decades.

There are treasure hunters out there. Searching for these abandoned beauties in these lonely old barns. And, these enthusiasts are lovingly restoring these cars to their original glory.

Let’s look at 5 such discoveries:

A 1968 Lamborghini Miura P400 was discovered in an abandoned barn on a farm in France in 2018. It was discovered with 81…

--

--

Janice Tovey

My passion is writing. I also love reading, teaching, animals, nature, music, and humor. I am curious about everything and enjoy writing about all things.