7 Successful Things I Did To Lower My Blood Pressure

And reduce my anxiety about those high numbers

Janice Tovey
3 min readFeb 18, 2022

--

Photo by Mufid Majnun on Unsplash

I hate that machine. This is the one time in my life that a high score makes me feel like such a loser. The tightness around my arm as it inflates. The beep, beep, beep of my racing heart. Then the whoosh of release. The waiting, trying to read my doctor’s face as she looks at the numbers. Here we go, pump, pump, pump again. As I wait in fear.

My blood pressure has been high for as long as I can remember. I have issues with anxiety, especially around doctors and I am sure this does not help.

I finally had to start taking a low dose pill for hypertension. I was getting scared. A few months ago my doctor reported that my numbers were getting high again. She wanted to up my medication. In my head I said no ####way and this is what I did instead. With some success I might add.

I stopped drinking coffee, caffeinated drinks, and tea. I increased my consumption of water. Many individuals are sensitive to the effect of caffeine. It can raise blood pressure by as much as 5 to 10 mm Hg.

I started walking 2 km a day. It is not a huge amount but I believe over the two months it has made a difference in my blood pressure readings. And, I have lost 3 pounds which can’t hurt. A positive…

--

--

Janice Tovey

My passion is writing. I also love reading, teaching, animals, nature, music, and humor. I am curious about everything and enjoy writing about all things.