A $5.00 Box of Cereal Last Month Now Costs $8.00

What is really going on

Janice Tovey
2 min readMay 7, 2022

--

Photo by Tijana Drndarski on Unsplash

My box of cereal costs $8.00. Last month it was $5.00

Gas is almost $2.00 a litre. It was over $150.00 to fill my econobox.

Bird seed jumped from $16.00 to $26.00 overnight.

“Janice, how can you be so selfish?” “Don’t you care about what is going on in the world?” “Don’t you know people are suffering?”

Of course I do. There is inconceivable heartache, destruction, injustice, and death.

I watch the news. My heartbreaks. I wish I knew what to do.

But, I also don’t want to bury by head in the murky sandbox of rhetoric, sentimentality and lies.

I am reminded of the war in Ukraine, Covid, production costs, shipping costs, and supply and demand. I just kind of feel that we may all be being taken for an “expensive ride.”

Could there be more?

Photo by Yasser Mutwakil ياسر متوكل on Unsplash

Is there a silver lining?

The price of food is way up. Are we making wiser and healthier food choices?

--

--

Janice Tovey

My passion is writing. I also love reading, teaching, animals, nature, music, and humor. I am curious about everything and enjoy writing about all things.