How To Sleep With Frozen Shoulder

Reduce the pain of frozen shoulder at night

Janice Tovey
4 min readJun 27, 2022

--

Image Courtesy of UnSplash kinga-cichewicz

If the pain of frozen shoulder is keeping you from a good night’s sleep, do not despair. There are numerous strategies to help you sleep well with a frozen shoulder. Lack of sleep due to the pain of frozen shoulder is common and quite manageable.

We all require sufficient sleep. The importance of good sleep is even greater when recovering from a frozen shoulder.

The sleep experts recommend seven to nine hours of refreshing shut eye a night. I wasn’t getting enough. Are you?

My frozen shoulder pain kept me awake for months. I was lucky to get two or three hours. My nerves were frayed and my emotions on the brink of collapse. To survive, I had to find sleeping strategies. And I did.

Why does Frozen Shoulder hurt worse at night?

Is It Just My Imagination?

In the daytime we are active and distracted. We forget about our pain. At night, the intense discomfort of frozen shoulder rears its ugly head. We can’t sleep.

Scientifically speaking, during rest, blood flow to the body slows down. The kidneys become less able to remove water leading to retention and increased internal pressure. Our bodies swell. This higher…

--

--

Janice Tovey

My passion is writing. I also love reading, teaching, animals, nature, music, and humor. I am curious about everything and enjoy writing about all things.