A SUCCESSFUL WRITER: INCREASE YOUR VIEWS!

Janice Tovey
1 min readDec 16, 2021

Free Resource: Merriam Webster Online!

Photo by Christin Hume on Unsplash

For the last year I have been receiving an email from Merriam Webster!

Everyday I receive a “word of the day” in my inbox. Some of these words I have never heard. These often unique and obscure words I now use regularly in my writing. It takes my prose “up a notch.”

In addition to the “word of the day” this site has quizzes (a holiday quiz), games, “name that thing,” “challenging words you should know,” and unique trivia.

There are grammar rules like “a guide to em dashes and hyphens,” “altho vs although,” and lots more.

Upon delivery, you also receive a definition, examples and a podcast!

Past 7 words from the past 7 days:

GALVANIZE

FOMITE

MENORAH

ENIGMA

COMMODIOUS

OSTRACIZE

ABRASIVE

Cool right?

If you want to sign up here is the link:

I hope you enjoy your once a day gift of a new word.

Happy writing!

--

--

Janice Tovey

My passion is writing. I also love reading, teaching, animals, nature, music, and humor. I am curious about everything and enjoy writing about all things.