INSPIRATIONAL POEM: AND STILL I RISE by Mary Angelou

Janice Tovey
2 min readDec 12, 2021

Determination and Survival!

Photo by Max Harlynking on Unsplash

This poem is Mary Angelou’s third poem. It is actually 32 short poems that have been divided into three parts. The theme of the poem focuses on a hopeful determination that rises above discouragement and difficulty. She speaks particularly to her gender and race, and she emphasizes resiliency and strength.

This poem is spoken with a confident voice, an individual who recognizes her own power and will not permit being pushed into a state of passivity.

I especially like this poem because of the dominant themes, of determination survival, and strong women!

Photo by Becca Tapert on Unsplash

I hope you enjoy it!

You may write me down in history

With your bitter, twisted lies,

You may tread me in the very dirt

But still, like dust, I’ll rise.

Does my sassiness upset you?

Why are you beset with gloom?

--

--

Janice Tovey

My passion is writing. I also love reading, teaching, animals, nature, music, and humor. I am curious about everything and enjoy writing about all things.