IS FEAR HOLDING YOU BACK?

Janice Tovey
3 min readNov 6, 2021
UpSplash Jacqueline Fritz

If I were to ask you to identify three things that you most fear what would you say? Have you ever really thought about this question? Do you really know what frightens you and why? Fear driven behavior often happens unconsciously, without awareness, and can be insidious and destructive.

Because I am asking you to answer this question, I think it is only fair that I give my response first. I gave it some thought and here are my very honest vulnerability and fear provoking answers:

I am afraid of people not liking me. It crushes me. I have not yet learned how to deal with something that is just a fact of life. Not everyone will take to me or approve of my behavior, the way I look or the way I write.

I am afraid of losing control. Not that things in my life are terribly out of control at the moment, but I know I hold on too tight And the truth is most things we have no control over anyway. The thought of this terrifies me.

I am afraid of getting sick. I am not a hypochondriac but I worry to much about health related issues. I am notorious for postponing doctors appointments for fear of receiving bad news.

Acknowledging my fears took me on a journey for inspiration and guidance. Quotes have always provided me with “food for thought:”

--

--

Janice Tovey

My passion is writing. I also love reading, teaching, animals, nature, music, and humor. I am curious about everything and enjoy writing about all things.