SUCCESSFUL WRITING!

Janice Tovey
3 min readNov 29, 2021

Spice it up!

Courtesy of UpSplash thought catalogue

I am not claiming to be a literary, spelling, or grammar wiz! . I do however, love learning about writing devices and interesting writing tools; ways to spice up my writing to make it more palatable to my audience.

I am very aware of the pleasant effects “words of play” have on my brain. It is like mental gymnastics. What could be better than a jolly juxtaposition or a lingering alliteration.

The great writers have all employed ingenious literary devices. All have used words in very distinct ways.

I came across these well know “figures of speech” and found them interesting and almost entertaining.

I hope you do too!

TRANSFERRED EPITHETS: This occurs when the qualifying objective is transferred from a person to a thing in a phrase. Sleepless Night

EPIGRAM: These are brief and to the point. An EPIGRAM puts together words that seem to contradict one another. The child is a father of the man.

METONYMY: “Consists of the use of the name of one thing for that of another of which it is an attribute or with which it is associated.” There is mountain of work on my desk.

SYNECDOCHE: A whole is used for the part or a part is used for a whole. Give us this day our daily bread.

--

--

Janice Tovey

My passion is writing. I also love reading, teaching, animals, nature, music, and humor. I am curious about everything and enjoy writing about all things.