My Curated Stories Aren’t Winning Any Popularity Contests

Are yours?

Janice Tovey
2 min readJun 1, 2022

--

Photo by Dayne Topkin on Unsplash

I have noticed that my curated stories are not all that successful in the long run. None of them has proved a winner in terms of popularity. In fact, many of my non curated posts have faired much better. Maybe it is just my writing, maybe it is not.

I used to experience a surge of adrenaline when I saw the “chosen for distribution” phrase. I thought that this would ensure the article was promoted heavily from within. This has not been the case for me. Maybe I am not a good writer.

This begs the question. What is the benefit to the writer for having a post designated “chosen for further distribution” other than a pat on the back and a temporary ego boost?

And a bigger question, how does designating a writer’s work under this category benefit Medium. It doesn’t seem to be helping the writer. There must be some advantage in it for this platform or Medium wouldn’t be doing it.

An Important Distinction

I have learned that there are two types of curated status. One is done by a computer, the other by a person who has a specific interest in a piece. The post that is personally handled apparently fairs much better.

I have come to believe that “chosen for further distribution” is a reflection of my ability to spell properly, write grammatically correct sentences, and follow Medium formatting guidelines. Nothing more.

I am not complaining. I am grateful for any recognition.

I just wonder sometimes what Medium is doing with all of these “curated” articles, and the point of it all.

--

--

Janice Tovey

My passion is writing. I also love reading, teaching, animals, nature, music, and humor. I am curious about everything and enjoy writing about all things.