MY MOTHER’S RAGE!

Janice Tovey
Dec 15, 2021

Love?

Courtesy of UpSplash Andrew-Haimeri

My mother’s RAGE,

suffocating, heavy, always.

I can’t breathe!

Bright lipstick,

Teeth smudged.

Hairspray.

I can’t breathe!

Cruel words,

Taunting,

I can’t breathe!

Haughty laugh,

I don’t understand,

I can’t breath!

The bathroom cabinet,

foreign,

Stay out she said!

Burn’t food,

Dirty food,

Not enough food.

Laughing at me.

Why?

5 years old.

Why are you mad mommy?

Worried, crying……..

“Well if you want something to cry about.”

My room, my dog, my fish, my dolls.

Tears on my pillow.

Arguing……

Head buried,

my butterfly sheets.

Reaching out……my dog,

Flashlight……my fish,

My favorite doll.

My prayers…… please bless mommy.

--

--

Janice Tovey

My passion is writing. I also love reading, teaching, animals, nature, music, and humor. I am curious about everything and enjoy writing about all things.