Pardon My Ignorance But I Have a Few Questions About Medium Things

Things that really confuse me.

Janice Tovey
2 min readJan 18, 2022

--

Photo by Uday Mittal on Unsplash

I am still fairly new to Medium.

It is not that I haven’t tried to find answers to these questions. I have read almost everything out there. But I still have a few nagging queries.

Can anyone out there shed some light?

These are the questions that keep me, and maybe others awake a night.

  • Is there any benefit from not “metering” our stories?
  • Is there any benefit from “metering” some of our stories and not others?
  • What factors would determine if we should decide to not “meter” a story?
  • What factors determine that a story should be “metered?”
  • Can a “non-metered” yet popular story still earn money?
  • What constraints are put on us when our stories are “metered?” Is there anything that we can not do?
  • Are our “non-metered” stories rated by the number of hits on Google?
  • Do the number of hits on Google for a ““non-metered” story figure into our ranking on the Medium Algorithm?
  • Do these Google hits matter?
  • Speaking of the Medium Algorithm, is it true we are…

--

--

Janice Tovey

My passion is writing. I also love reading, teaching, animals, nature, music, and humor. I am curious about everything and enjoy writing about all things.