The 1 Mysterious Connection Between Frozen Shoulder, Banana Bread, and the Need to Create

Janice Tovey
2 min readJan 13, 2022

The link between food, pain, and creativity

Courtesy of Upsplash harlie-raethel-ouyj

My Little Story

Two years ago I came down with a very painful and debilitating condition known as “frozen shoulder.” I was unable to move, lift, rotate, or use my right arm for over a year. I couldn’t wash my hair, towel off after a shower, open my car door, drive, write, sleep, dress, or do any of the other things we humans take for granted. Brushing my teeth was even a chore.

And not to be a “woe is me” kind of person, but, after the right shoulder finally healed, my other shoulder became injured. Maybe from over use. I went through the whole process again for at least another year.

It has been said that stress can be a factor in frozen shoulder. I had problems, we all have problem, so who knows.

My life had become one desperate chiropractic and physiotherapy appointment after another. It was expensive. It was really awful. I couldn’t put my coat on. A poncho had become my best friend.

Frozen shoulder is referred to as idiopathic. The medical profession is not sure of the cause. It was painful and very discouraging.

Moving Forward.

--

--

Janice Tovey

My passion is writing. I also love reading, teaching, animals, nature, music, and humor. I am curious about everything and enjoy writing about all things.