The Dogs I Meet on My Early Morning Walk

Our best friends

Janice Tovey
2 min readNov 19, 2023

--

Photo by Alvan Nee on Unsplash

Since I lost my own dog a month ago I have been doing a lot of walking. Early morning walking. To get out of a house that feels so empty…. since my sixteen-year-old pug left us.

No more clicks on the floor, snoring, sneezing, or barking at the kitchen table. No more walks around the block, cooking special food or tale wagging.

So now I walk.

I am not ready for another dog, but I have met some marvelous dogs on my walks. Here are a few of them that I have had the pleasure of seeing.

Photo by Alexandru Sofronie on Unsplash

French Bulldog

These are the cutest and most precocious little creatures. There owners tend to be very fashion forward. They are always dressed impeccably. The dogs that is. French bulldogs were bred in Paris as companion dogs. They made their debut in the mid-nineteenth century and are thought a cross between the English Toy Bulldogs and Parisian ratters.

Photo by Y Tsui on Unsplash

Welsh Corgi

--

--

Janice Tovey

My passion is writing. I also love reading, teaching, animals, nature, music, and humor. I am curious about everything and enjoy writing about all things.