The Two Secret Ingredients In My Grandmother’s Super Fluffy Pancakes

I will tell you one, you have to guess the second.

Janice Tovey
2 min readApr 30, 2022

--

Photo by nikldn on Unsplash

My grandmother used to make the best possible pancakes. They were fluffy, light and sweet, and simply irresistible! They were mouthwatering.

Her name was Ruby. Grandma Ruby.

I was a kid. I wasn’t interested in the how, I just wanted to eat.

They would appear before me smothered in maple syrup, butter, and blueberries or strawberries.

And that first bite. I will never forget.

I tried various store bought mixtures and homemade recipes to no avail. The secret ingredients forever elusive.

It wasn’t until a few months ago I was “flipping” through an old recipe book that I discovered something.

Photo by S O C I A L . C U T on Unsplash

Conventional pancake recipes call for flour, milk, eggs, baking soda, a little salt, sugar and melted butter.

This was no exception.

Except for one ingredient.

--

--

Janice Tovey

My passion is writing. I also love reading, teaching, animals, nature, music, and humor. I am curious about everything and enjoy writing about all things.